Belmont's Curse Difficulty, Length and Platform Versions
Last updated:
Short answer Reviewers describe Belmont's Curse as demanding by default, with a Custom Mode that adjusts damage, experience, potions and boss-door respawns. Reported first-playthrough times run from about 14 to 23 hours depending on the source and how much was completed. KONAMI lists 60 fps on most platforms and 30 fps on Nintendo Switch.
How Hard Is It?
GameSpot says it is easy to die even in ordinary fights and that bosses take pattern recognition, but that the combat is precise enough to show what went wrong (GameSpot). Nintendo Life calls it a professional-grade challenge for Metroidvania experts, with a stiff learning curve and necessary grinding, and warns that those less familiar with the format may find it frustrating (Nintendo Life). A PlayStation preview says hasty mistakes are punished fast but that the game never felt unfair, and that surviving relied on learning patterns and using the dodge's invincibility frames (PlayStation Blog).
Two things soften the curve according to reviewers: GameSpot reports that experience earned on runbacks to a boss is kept, so failed attempts still level Rose up, and GamesRadar+ notes plentiful Mirror of Life save points. Nintendo Life disagrees on save spacing, calling the save rooms far apart.
Custom Mode
KONAMI's support page confirms detailed gameplay customization including damage adjustments, found under System, Settings, Gameplay (KONAMI Support). The option list below comes from Destructoid and from CapyDB, which read the demo build, so ranges may differ in the released game. GameSpot says there seems to be no cost to using it and that it can be toggled freely; CapyDB reports that the game warns some achievements become unobtainable while it is on. Nintendo Life's reviewer advises avoiding the difficulty slider, which carries an in-game warning that it may spoil the game; that is one opinion against GameSpot's more relaxed view.
| Option | What it does | Range (demo data) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Respawn at boss doors | Retry a boss from just outside its door instead of the last save | On or off | Destructoid · GameSpot |
| Damage dealt | Scales the damage Rose deals | 0.5x to 5x | Destructoid · CapyDB |
| Damage from enemies | Scales damage Rose takes from enemies | 0x to 3x | CapyDB |
| Damage from traps | Scales damage Rose takes from traps | 0x to 3x | CapyDB · GameSpot |
| Experience gained | Scales experience earned | 0x to 3x | Destructoid · CapyDB |
| Maximum potions | Changes how many healing potions Rose can hold | 0 to 6 (default 3) | CapyDB |
| Prevent death | Rose cannot die, per Destructoid; CapyDB could not confirm what happens at zero health | On or off | Destructoid · CapyDB |
How Long Does It Take?
Reviewers' numbers vary with how much they completed, so compare the scope column.
| Source | Reported time | Scope | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Game Rant | 14 to 20 hours; about 15 hours for its writer; 10 to 12 for main objectives only | First playthrough, default difficulty | Says 20+ hours for 100% |
| RPG Site | About 16 hours | To 100% | Lower than Game Rant's 100% estimate |
| GameSpot | 20+ hours | Many bosses still unfound at that point | Reviewer's playtime, not a completion figure |
| GamesRadar+ | 23 hours | 2 of the game's 3 possible endings | Reviewer's playtime; the review page itself was re-read October 28, 2026 |
| AFK Journal (relaying GamesRadar+) | 23 hours | 2 of the game's 3 endings | Secondary relay; AFK also cites about 16 hours from TechRadar |
The sources conflict on 100% completion: about 16 hours (RPG Site) against 20 or more (Game Rant). The game has three endings: GamesRadar+'s reviewer says they spent 23 hours "unlocking 2 of the 3 possible endings" (AFK Journal repeats this), and GameTrek's guide menu lists a page titled "How to Get All Three Endings".
Platform Versions
| Topic | What KONAMI lists | What reviewers report |
|---|---|---|
| Frame rate | 60 fps; 30 fps on Nintendo Switch | Nintendo Life describes occasional frame dips on Switch and about 60 fps when the game runs on Switch 2 |
| Install size | Standard 8 GB (Switch 4 GB); Midnight Edition 10 GB (Switch 6 GB) | Not reported in the pages checked |
| Loading | Not listed | Nintendo Life calls load times on the original Switch intrusive and says they still felt sluggish on Switch 2 |
| Audio and text | Audio in Japanese and English; text in 11 languages | Nintendo Life found the English voice acting weak and recommends the Japanese track; that is one reviewer's opinion |
| Demo | Announced September 20, 2026 | Wikipedia dates the demo October 1, 2026, with progress carrying into the full game |
| Editions | Standard and Midnight (see the hub for release facts) | Not reported in the pages checked |
KONAMI's product page is the source for the Frame Rate, install size, audio and text entries (KONAMI product page). The other columns come from Nintendo Life and Wikipedia.
How Critics Scored It
As listed on Wikipedia on October 27, 2026: Metacritic 79 (Switch), 82 (PC), 84 (PS5) and 87 (Xbox Series X|S); OpenCritic 96% recommend. Individual scores span a wide range: GameSpot 10/10, IGN 8/10, Push Square 7/10, and Eurogamer, The Guardian and Video Games Chronicle 3/5 each (Wikipedia). Nintendo Life gave 8/10. These are historical figures and were not re-checked at the outlets.
Where to Read Next
- Gameplay overview — combat, Arcana and bosses in summary.
- Gameplay FAQ — fast travel, secrets and New Game Plus.
- Series difficulty ranking — how older games compare.
- Belmont's Curse hub — release facts and reception snapshot.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long is Belmont's Curse?
Reported first-playthrough times run from about 14 to 23 hours. Game Rant gives 14 to 20 hours, RPG Site about 16 hours to 100%, and GameSpot played more than 20 hours without finding every boss.
Is Belmont's Curse hard?
Reviewers describe it as demanding: GameSpot says it is easy to die and bosses need pattern recognition, and Nintendo Life calls it a professional-grade challenge for Metroidvania experts. Custom Mode can ease it.
Is there an easy mode in Belmont's Curse?
There is no traditional difficulty setting. KONAMI confirms gameplay customization including damage adjustments, and reviews describe Custom Mode options such as boss-door respawns, damage and experience scaling and potion capacity.
How does Belmont's Curse run on Nintendo Switch?
KONAMI lists 30 fps on Switch against 60 fps elsewhere. Nintendo Life reports intrusive load times and occasional frame dips on the original Switch.
Is there a Belmont's Curse demo?
Yes. KONAMI announced a demo on September 20, 2026, and Wikipedia reports it released on October 1, 2026 with progress carrying into the full game.
Sources
- KONAMI official product page: Belmont's Curse
- KONAMI Support: Can I adjust the difficulty? (October 13, 2026)
- GameSpot review (October 13, 2026)
- Nintendo Life review, Switch (October 20, 2026)
- PlayStation Blog preview (July 17, 2026)
- Game Rant: bosses, zones and weapons (October 15, 2026)
- RPG Site review
- GamesRadar+ review
- AFK Journal: length, difficulty and reviews
- Destructoid: how to change difficulty
- CapyDB: Custom Mode options (data from the demo build)
- Wikipedia: Castlevania: Belmont's Curse
Facts checked October 27, 2026. Summaries are our own wording of the cited pages; reviewers' opinions are attributed to them. Custom Mode ranges come from the demo build as read by CapyDB and may differ in the release. RPG Site and GamesRadar+ statements were checked against the review pages themselves on October 28, 2026; the TechRadar figure is as relayed by AFK Journal. Review scores are as listed on Wikipedia. Where sources disagree both versions are shown rather than resolved.